The Not So Boring Letters of Private Nobody A trio of seventh graders become one another s first friends as they discover the secrets of a Civil War soldier in this middle grade novel for fans of Gordon Korman and Gary SchmidtTwelve year old Ol

  • Title: The Not-So-Boring Letters of Private Nobody
  • Author: Matthew Landis
  • ISBN: 9780735227989
  • Page: 246
  • Format: Hardcover
  • A trio of seventh graders become one another s first friends as they discover the secrets of a Civil War soldier in this middle grade novel for fans of Gordon Korman and Gary SchmidtTwelve year old Oliver Prichard is obsessed with the Civil War He knows everything about it the battles, the generals, every movement of the Union and Confederate Armies So when the last assA trio of seventh graders become one another s first friends as they discover the secrets of a Civil War soldier in this middle grade novel for fans of Gordon Korman and Gary SchmidtTwelve year old Oliver Prichard is obsessed with the Civil War He knows everything about it the battles, the generals, every movement of the Union and Confederate Armies So when the last assignment of seventh grade history is a project on the Civil War, Oliver is over the moon until he s partnered with Ella Berry, the slacker girl with the messy hair who does nothing but stare out the window And when Oliver finds out they have to research a random soldier named Private Raymond Stone who didn t even fight in any battles before dying of some boring disease, Oliver knows he s doomed But Ella turns out to be very different from what Oliver expected As the partners film their documentary about Private Stone with Oliver s friend Kevin signing on as their head writing consultant Oliver discovers that sometimes the most interesting things are hiding in uninteresting places Even Private Stone is better than expected There s a mystery buried in his past, and Oliver knows he can figure it out.

    • The Not-So-Boring Letters of Private Nobody by Matthew Landis
      246 Matthew Landis
    • thumbnail Title: The Not-So-Boring Letters of Private Nobody by Matthew Landis
      Posted by:Matthew Landis
      Published :2019-08-20T06:14:41+00:00

    About "Matthew Landis"

    1. Matthew Landis

      Matthew Landis teaches middle school history outside Philadelphia, where he seeks to make the past come alive in not boring ways He is a closet HALO fan, and can sometimes be found reading novels adapted from that video game He is blessed with an amazing wife and two kids, and hopes to one day write a book that moves people like Lev Grossman, Jo Nesbo, Sharon Creech, Patrick Ness, or Ron Rash have moved him He also hopes to achieve whatever level of literary fame allows a person to summer in Cape Town and go on endless safaris.

    408 thoughts on “The Not-So-Boring Letters of Private Nobody”

    1. E ARC from Edelweiss PlusYou know, the world would be a very boring place if we all liked the same books. There are lots of blogs out there, and it's easy to get lots of different opinions. I often don't like the books others do, and I don't often get really excited about a book. When I do, however, I get REALLY excited. (The Football Girl, anyone?)The Not-So-Boring Letters of Private Nobody made me ridiculously happy for a lot of reasons. When I taught Latin, I used the phrase "somewhat benevol [...]


    2. Oliver Prichard is not your typical seventh grader. He spends his weekends dressing up in Civil War clothes to reenact battles, and he does it with gusto. I love that about him. When this history buff is paired with Ella Berry, the girl who's failing school and doesn't seem to care, in order to research an unknown soldier for a school project, he thinks he's doomed. Nobody gets the war like he does, nor do they appreciate a good war hero. Oliver wonders why the soldier matters since he died befo [...]


    3. The Not So Boring Letters of Private Nobody makes the history of the Civil War come alive in the everyday lives of middle schoolers, their teachers, and their families. It is a great alternative to books classified in the historical fiction genre that use the past as their setting and are sometimes difficult for students to form a connection with. In TNSBLOPN the main characters are present-day 7th graders learning about the Civil War. Matt Landis is spot on with his description, dialogue, and a [...]


    4. 🎖 @penguinrandomhouse #partner 🎖I’m a big fan of historical fiction, particularly WWII, so I was delighted to find that this middle grade book that focuses on a Civil War project was wonderful! This book by @matthew_landis will certainly hit a niche for kids who want a bit of history mixed into their realistic fiction. I learned things along the way, both about the #civilwar and about friendship.Although told by a male seventh grader as the main character, I adored Ella, the female lead! [...]


    5. This book was a pleasant surprise. Oliver is an awkward middle schooler who likes to do things on his own. He works hard on learning all he can about the civil war and that is enough for him. Ella is a known mess. She is a mess on the outside and does not care about school. When they are paired up to work on a Civil War project, neither one of the expect to form a friendship, but that is what happens. But could there be something more there? This book took me by surprise. The characters were fab [...]


    6. The not-so Boring Letters of Private Nobody was an excellent book. I enjoyed all of the facts in their about the civil war. They were well integrated enough to make it interesting but not so densely populated to make it a history book. I liked how the whole project was the story even though a project is not that big in a students life. However I thought that the ending was a little too perfect.


    7. Super enjoyable read! Realistic characters in awkward middle school moments come to learn more about themselves and each other while researching their Civil War project. I liked how sarcastic yet caring Mr. Carrow was and all the interesting facts the reader gets to learn along the way. Will make a great addition to my classroom library.


    8. What a great book. Oliver and Ella are such delightful characters but Kevin is so so funny and steals the scenes he is in. Mr. Carrow’s banter had me laughing from the beginning. A perfect book for readers who likes to laugh but still want a book with heart. I highly recommend this book.



    9. Decent enough MG but terrible title. Like, I couldn't even remember the title when looking at the book itself. Vague and won't be helpful if trying to recommend it.


    10. I received a review copy of this book from the author in exchange for my honest opinion.Author Matt Landis is a middle school social studies teacher who obviously draws on much personal experience. His description makes the reader care about his quirky but realistic characters, and he moves the story along without dwelling too long on any one event. This story is about the awkwardness of new relationships and navigating boy/girl relationships as much as it is about researching history, and I thi [...]


    11. Sweet and funny, and great for that rare kid / history buff. It's not exactly an exciting bookrather a sensitive and sometimes funny portrayal of a kid who is obsessed with the civil war. So there are some details and transcribed letters in there from the war, but not any kind of thrilling historical fiction subplot from the era or anything. I don't mean to disparage the book! It was lovely and I don't really have any complaints, I just think it might be a hard sell to young readers.


    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *